Jenn Koren

Who Says I Can't?

Yes, I’m thankful for Skype! November 24, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — jennkoren @ 8:02 am

Wow!  It’s been a really long time since I’ve sat down and had time to blog.  I actually don’t have the time right now but figured if I didn’t take 15 minutes out of my day to write something down it might be next year when I actually make the time to make this happen.

So I continue to stand by not blogging unless I have something to say.  It’s been over 3 months since my last blog and I’m sure I have had lots to say since then but have lost myself in work, kids, home, work, kids…did I say work?

It’s that time of the year when the holidays are coming around and life is passing too quickly.  It will soon be New Years and we’ll all look back and wonder how it all went by so fast once again.  So this is my 15 minutes at 7am in the morning on the Wednesday before Thanksgiving to slow down for a moment and remember what is important in my life and what I’m most thankful for.

I’m thankful for Skype!  Yes, that’s right, aren’t you?  My parents live about 3 hours from me and I get to see them anytime I want!  I was able to talk my Mom out of cutting her hair and suggested different looks that I thought would look good on her.  We have morning coffee and she yells at me on a nightly basis to get off the computer when she see’s I’m on there late at night.     It’s like they are right here with me all the time.

I’m thankful for parent controlled cell phones for your kids.  My 9 year old can reach me when I’m traveling and let me know that Zoe (her American Girl doll) is dressed in her horsemanship outfit.  She can take pictures of Zoe and send it to me so I can share in her excitement during these crazy girl moments that she is constantly experiencing lately.  She can also use the phone to document evidence that her 4 year old brother has not been sharing or listening to her.  These texts remind me how I would love to live in the world that my children live in…..forever…

I’m thankful that my bank allows bill-pay on just about anything so I never have to actually write a check.  I actually have no idea how much money we spend on bills on a monthly basis but they always get paid on time and that’s one less thing I have to worry about!

I’m thankful for the crazy old Irish lady that we found to watch our dogs for $30 a day (for both dogs)…yes..I said both dogs.  This lady, who some might find harsh and a bit not normal, is the best thing that has happened to our dogs since the dog bone was created.   She also seems to REALLY like my husband which comes in handy when we need to make a last minute change to our dog schedule.

I’m thankful for Cami, our Au Pair from Columbia, who doesn’t judge me for living in my room (where my office is) and never changing out of my pajamas’s.  Anyone who has to deal with my kids all day, my A-type personality and shedding dogs that are too big for our home deserves a nice long vacation…without kids, myself and or our dogs…

And finally I am thankful for my incredibly patient husband who always supports my craziness and allows me to take any challenges head on…not matter how absurd they might be.   I used to think that he allowed me to do the things that I wanted because he knew it wasn’t worth arguing with me.  I’m Italian after all, arguing and getting our way pretty much runs through our blood lines.  After a few long talks about why I was feeling so passionate about this new stage in life, the only answer I could give him on why I wanted to make this change was because ‘it felt like the right thing to do in my life at that moment’.   And that was it.  He supported me and we took yet another step in our crazy lives together towards some unknown future..now that’s love…or my craziness is starting to rub off on him.

So this 15 minute post turned into an hour long post which also included checking my emails, getting breakfast ready, dressing Sean and making Emma’s bed.  I don’t have time to proof this so excuse all the grammatical errors that I’m sure everyone (mostly my Dad) will find.

I’m thankful I found the time to post this to remind myself of all the things that are good in life right now.

 

2 Responses to “Yes, I’m thankful for Skype!”

  1. Dad Says:

    Nice to be included in your “thankful” post. We love Skype too. This reminds me that I haven’t blogged in two weeks, mostly due to Bambi. 🙂

  2. Rosemarie Allocco Says:

    Missed your posts. Always make me smile. Hope you and your family had a wonderful holiday!


Leave a Reply

