Jenn Koren

Who Says I Can't?

Why I’ll Never Be Like My Mom May 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — jennkoren @ 9:39 pm

If you ask my Mom, she’ll tell you I was a good kid. However, over the last decade or so, I think she has suffered from what I call, ‘The Mom Fog’ and all of my negative childhood memories have disappeared.

So just in case she forgot, I thought I would recap my Top 5 for her:

  1. The time I drove her car into the side of our garage on the second day that I got my license
  2. The other time that I drove her other car into the back of a stopped vehicle.
  3. The time that I lied and told her that I had a job but was really taking the train every day from NJ to NY to go to Bar Tending school, which I invested $500 in to become the next famous Bar Tender.  Now that I think about it, I don’t think she ever really knew about this one.  I guess she knows now.
  4. When I dated ‘that guy‘ who, at the time, was the love of my life. And who, after 2 weeks of knowing me, tattooed my name on his body and later stalked me to the point where my Dad had to put the fear of God into him
  5. When she let me go on my first ‘parent free’ weekend with my high school girlfriends, and then later found the video tape that my girlfriends and I took of us smoking and drinking…ouch.  I still hear about that one.

We can laugh about these things now, well, maybe not the video yet.  And now that I am a Mom I am sure that my children will have their Top 5 multiplied by 10 and maybe that will make up for all all the times I took my parents for granted.

Being a parent has made me realize how much I never appreciated my Mother as a Mom or as a person.  It’s made me realize that she only ever wanted me to be happy and to be honest and true to myself.  I always thought she never took an interest in what I wanted to do with my life.  Nothing ever seemed good enough to really impress her or show that she was proud of me.

When I became a parent, I realized that I had it all wrong.  I realized that it didn’t matter to her what sport I excelled in or what profession I decided to study in school.  She just wanted me to be a good person.  She wanted me to be selfless and honest and to never settle for less then what I believed in.

Even though I’ll always try to be a Mom that she can be proud of, I know that I will never come close to being the Mom and woman that she is.

I’ll never have the heart and selflessness that she has.  She opens herself so easily to anyone in need without question or regret.  Her kindness and realness are overwhelmingly sincere and I envy her ability to relate to every type of person that she encounters. She doesn’t judge anyone nor is she affected by anyone that feels the need to judge her.  She lives each day by her faith and by what she believes is the right way to do things.

I could never come close to ever being the type of person that she is.  There are no presents that I could give her that would prove  how much I love and appreciate her as a Mom and how deep my respect and admiration is for her as a person.

For those of you who know my Mom, you know that she’ll never be online to ever see this post.  If you do know her, please tell  her that you saw this post.  Let her know that I wanted you to tell her that I love her..with a bushel and a peck and a hug around the neck.

Happy Mother’s Day!!!

 

4 Responses to “Why I’ll Never Be Like My Mom”

  1. Yvonne Moss Says:

    For certain, I will do that.

  2. Leslie Says:

    That makes me want to call my mommy! ❤


Leave a Reply

